Reading Without Limits

Maddie Witter

Honesty Journals: One Tool to Build Self-Efficacy

In order to strengthen self-efficacy, I’m teaching kids to keep honesty journals about their reading or homework.  Instead of reprimanding kids when they don’t get stuff done, I’d rather see them reflect.  I don’t get everything I need to get done (as you can see below!) all the time when I want to, either.  Teach honesty journals by keeping one yourself.  Below is an example of my at-home reading honesty journal.  You could do this with any homework assignment.  Research John Hattie discovered that while homework is not a huge influencer for student achievement, self-efficacy is the #1 influencer.  So, if homework is still an important part of your classroom, consider incorporating an honesty journal.

Monday 11, March

Public holiday today.  Got a lot of reading done.  I’m more than halfway through my book.  I think I’m really into it because I’m really invested into the characters.  Realized that I somehow read 100 pages today! It’s an 800 page book.  I didn’t want to read it because it was so long, but now I’ll be sad when it’s over.

Tuesday 12, March

Really wanted to read my book, but then realized I misplaced it.  At first I thought I lost it permanently but realized I had left it at another house.  Annoying.  Wish I could read it.  Thought about reading a magazine but was too annoyed about my book.  Instead, relaxed then caught up on work that I needed to get done.

Wednesday 13, March

Very busy timetable today.  By 7:30 in the evening, I was exhausted.  Just wanted to watch TV.  That’s okay… I know if I read or tried to do any work, I’d be too tired and I’d do it badly.  I’m going to have to figure out how to make up the work I didn’t get done tomorrow.

Thursday 14, March

My daughter is sick and I’m getting sick, too.  Just want to lie in bed.  Thought about reading, but then I thought that if I started to read, I’d fall asleep.  Then, I’d forget what’s happening, so what’s the point?

3 comments on “Honesty Journals: One Tool to Build Self-Efficacy

  1. renwickme
    March 24, 2013

    Great idea Maddie. I question reading logs and daily homework myself. This seems like a reasonable and more engaging alternative for students.

    Question: Now that you are using these honesty journals, are students demonstrating more responsibility now that they have to reflect on their actions? Maybe something worth investigating.

    • Maddie
      March 24, 2013

      We just started… I’ll let you know!

  2. Pingback: Holiday Reading Homework | Reading Without Limits

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 17, 2013 by in Classroom Community, Engagement and tagged , , .

Follow Maddie on Twitter

  • RT @Mary_Wooldridge: Congrats to Parkville College teacher Katherine Tsagaris who won the Victorian Secondary Teacher of the Year Award. ht… 2 months ago
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

